The Bharatiya Janata Party is one of the two major parties in the Indian political system, along with the Indian National Congress. As of 2014, it is the country’s largest political party in terms of representation in the national parliament and state assemblies.

The BJP is a right-wing party, with close ideological and organisational links to the Hindu nationalist Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh.

Sl No. Duration Name
1 1980“1986 Atal Bihari Vajpayee
2 1986“1991 Lal Krishna Advani First Term
3 1991“1993 Murli Manohar Joshi
4 1993“1998 Lal Krishna Advani Second Term
5 1998“2000 Kushabhau Thakre
6 2000“2001 Bangaru Laxman
7 2001“2002 Jana Krishnamurthi
8 2002“2004 Venkaiah Naidu
9 2004“2006 Lal Krishna Advani Third Term
10 2006“2009 Rajnath Singh First Term
11 2009“2013 Nitin Gadkari First Term
12 2013 “ present Rajnath Singh Second Term