Earth’s solar system consists of :
The Sun
The Planets
Dwarf Planets & countless fragments of left – overs called asteroids, meteors, comets & satellites of the planets (Called small solar system Bodies).


  • Our galaxy is milky way Galaxy (or the Akash Ganga). It is spiral in shape.
  • The Sun is at the centre of the solar system and one of the stars in the milky way galaxy.
  • Hydrogen and helium are the main gases present in the Sun and Weighs 2 × 1027 tons.
  • It has a surface temperature of about 6000°C.
  • Light (at the speed of 300,000 km per second) takes about 8.5 minutes to reach the Earth from the Sun.
  • There are eight planets in the Solar system.
  • The sequence of planets according to their distance from the Sun is Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune. The sequence of planets according to their size (in descending order i.e., from big to small) is Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune , Earth, Venus, Mars, Mercury
  • Some Facts About Solar System

    Biggest Planet Jupiter
    Smallest Planet Mercury
    Nearest Planet to Sun Mercury
    Farthest Planet from Sun Neptune
    Nearest Planet to Earth Venus
    Brightest Planet Venus
    Brightest star after Sun Sirius
    Planet with maximum satellites Jupiter
    Coldest Planet Neptune
    Hottest Planet Venus
    Heaviest Planet Jupiter
    Red Planet Mars
    Biggest Satellite Gannymede
    Smallest Satellite Deimos
    Blue Planet Earth
    Morning/Evening Star Venus
    Earth’s Twin Venus
    Green Planet Neptune
    Planet with a big red spot Jupiter
    Lord of the Heavens Jupiter
    Greatest Diurnal Temperature Mercury